Who says a blog can’t be art?

Warning this is a rant

So today I was banned from a Flickr group, which is no big deal for me, but when I went to the group to see what rule I might have broken I saw that it said “No blogs, art pieces only.” This got me thinking, who says that blog pictures aren’t art? I mean I know there’s some that are very obviously advertising, but there are some blog pictures that are very much art. I know for me, I put a lot of time into getting the picture I want perfect. That’s why sometimes it takes a few days for me to do a post, I want to have everything the way I picture it in my head. Then I go and take the pictures, which on a good day takes a couple of hours because of lag, on a bad day it can take a few days to get one that isn’t blurry. Then after that I go into photoshop and I edit my pictures to the way I want. Sometimes I think I want it then decide it sucks, scrap it and start again in photoshop. To me my pictures are art. So because I have a blog and put a blog link in my picture that makes it not an art piece? I mean there are some blogs that I follow that I’m in awe of when it comes to their pictures. Does that mean that those pictures aren’t art because they’re a blog?

It kind of made me think “heh, elitist much?” and a little miffed at the attitude. Like seriously, it’s flickr, and art is objective, no need to be rude about it. Anyway, rant over. I just wanted to get that off my chest hahaha

Hope you’re all having a good weekend! New blog post coming soon, am currently setting up the scene I want, just the way I want it so I can show it off to you guys!

❤ Lҽҽʂҽҽ

This entry was posted by leesee79.

17 thoughts on “Who says a blog can’t be art?

    • I think the way some people word it is rather rude. It makes me sad too, segregating people based on if you blog what you’re wearing and making people feel like they’re “less than” someone else is bullying. I’d rather not be in a group that has that attitude anyway.

      Like

  1. Not only rude. It is just sad not giving a chance. I can say I am a blogger, but I am so lazy blogger and put so much time in photos – I can call it art. But the fact to judge people based on – if you pay your own stuff or not – is not arty at all. Basically, if I buy my own clothes and makes crappy photos – based on those group statement – it makes it more art than – art?

    Like

    • Well it doesn’t matter if you pay or not really, I pay for stuff that I blog still. The rule for that group was if you linked to a blog there was “no way in hell” that the pictures would be allowed and if you tried to submit pictures that were related to a blog you’d be banned. So even if the whole picture was made entirely of items that I paid for the mere fact that I linked to a blog post meant that it wasn’t art lol

      Like

      • I did express myself wrong (*kick my language-difference*). It was what I wanted to say, but I meant – if you pay and don’t have a interest in ”promoting” no matter how good or arty you are – you are not allowed to the ”good kids club” in those groups.
        But the fact is that art is still art and that no-one is brutally forced to click on the link below.
        What do you think about those new pay-to-be-linked feeds? I am so scared of them O.o

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wait, there’s paid to be linked feeds? That’s not something I will take part in, that’s segregating bloggers that cannot afford to pay for things like hosting their own website or other promotional tools. I think that pay to be linked feeds should be kept to real life promotion. In the end for most of us, blogging second life products is a hobby. Yes you get free items and you promote said items but you’re not being paid real money that you can put towards real life things such as bills and food. Therefore I think that making someone pay to be on a feed with real life money is a bit much.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yup. I agree. I was starring at it and go hide back in my non-popular cave in which money doesn’t grow.

    P. S. this has nothing to do with the topic, but is there any EFFECTIVE way to follow blogs you like? I just noticed I did not have you on my list but I follow you so long, but the fact is that wordpress is not such a great platform to keep you updated. I wish there is a way to somehow connect Flickr people with the blog, but don’t know for any. Do you?

    Like

    • I’m not too sure about following from Flickr. Usually I click on the links in pics if I like the picture and follow from there. For WordPress I get them all sent to my email when I follow them so I can keep up to date with everyone’s posts. If there was a way to connect everything like Flickr, Facebook, WordPress etc it would be awesome!

      Like

  3. I was banned from the official SL flickr group for the same reason, I take a lot of time doing my pictures and I also see a lot of other blog pictures that are worthy of being art, It is art! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was banned from the official one as well I think that’s because I accidentally put boobs in there though. I don’t really care in the end, there’s plenty of other groups that I can post to it’s just the attitude that gets me with what some of them say.

      Like

    • I’m not going to bother even asking to be added back, there’s not much point. What so you can maybe get a chance to be featured on the main page? Sure would be great publicity but I figure that’s usually left for the bloggers with higher views, favs, visits etc. Plus this:

      “You agree to participate in the Company’s Photo of the Day program (the “Program”). As a participant of the Program, you hereby grant to the Company a perpetual, worldwide, irrevocable, and cost-free right and license to use, distribute, or sublicense (through multiple levels), and otherwise exploit in any manner whatsoever, all or any portion of your Submissions, for the purposes of marketing, promotion, and/or outreach for and about the Second Life virtual world.”

      does not say that they will credit you properly. So if you post to their flickr page you agree for them to use your picture anyway they like and they don’t even have to link back to you at all. Would rather not post to that group personally lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Outcast Ink

A Second Life blog from my point of view.

Panty Raid Hunt

Just another WordPress.com site

{K}iss {K}iss

Virtual Style by Khitten Kurka

suzie hiccup

Suzie's take on TD clothing and places in SL

The Anti Girly Girl Blog

Second Life Blog about Role Play Fashion and Fantasy Styles

Colleen Criss's Weblog

Second Life Live Music,Second Life Modeling,Second Life Fashion,

..::DARE::..

Style! Poses! Art!

Twisted Rebellion

Male and Female Secondlife Fashion

Threads & Tuneage

Fashion and Events in my SecondLife

Valsnia - know you better

STYLE CHANGES IN ME

Pills&Pixels Project

Second life, my fashion game.

the glamour sauce

SL Fashion, Things & Stuff

Honour's Post Menopausal View (of Second Life)

(The Second Life World is a trademark of Linden Research, Inc.)

A Kat and A Mouse

Exploring Second Life

Ribbons of Pixels

Ribbons of my world in Pixels

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

The Machinations of Machina

Art Director of Bright Metallic. Owner of The Nebulae. Cyborg. Sapho Addict.

Elemiah Choche

Second Life

[I N F L I C T I O N]

creepy blogging for the adorable weirdos

tabouirresistible

tabou irresistible sl designer original content mesh

i0ana'slview

Home & deco style in SecondLife

SL's Jacee Baby

My Second Life Fashion Diary

Cath peaches

sl fashion bubbles

Second Eyedentity

Second Life Fashion Blog

The Blogging Elf

Fashion. Role-Play. Combine it. Role-Play Styles.

fashionablybipolar

Second Life Style to Fit Any Mood

~Bratilicious~

Roleplay outfits

Becca's Blog

My musings on Second Life, and beyond.

Tartiste

Style and Art with a Twist

VERSUS SL

SL FASHION AT ITS’ BEST. BE EXTRAORDINARY.

Dork Is Me

# 1 Dork of Fashion

Antique Grid Show

Grid-wide group bringing antique sales and hunts to the residents of SecondLife

A Touch of Plum

Fashion and Style for Less

Second Life Freebies Addiction & More

Un excellent site WordPress.com

Mimikrysis

Illusion is needed to disguise the emptiness within...

What a Beautiful Mess!

A virtual girl's guide to Second Life fashion!

Rochie Roz

Mesh clothes for girls

*~*HopScotch*~*

This is a blog about the designs, ideas, releases of *~*HopScotch*~* - a Second Life business

World Goth Fair

Get your virtual goth on.

Sinful Pixels

secondlife fashion, iheartsl, another sl fashion feed, fashion, second life, pixels, sl, style, fantasy fashion, Gothic fashion, my fashion, virtual worlds

